An Exclusive Adobe Q&A — Prolost
170817 Dsc07611 .jpg

After migrating from Classic to CC, Adobe recommends that you turn off synchronization in Lightroom Classic. I understand why this is (I think) but I intend to ignore this advice. I imagine that activating synchronization for the catalog from which I migrated can lead to nasty conflicts. Instead, I plan to create a brand new, empty Lightroom Classic catalog and enable synchronization for it.

Do not do that. If you insist on keeping Sync enabled in Lightroom Classic after migrating to Lightroom CC, just keep using your existing Classic catalog. As long as you're using the latest version of Lightroom Classic, not all existing photos will be synced.

Okay, that's reassuring. I was prepared for a full redownload of my entire 4TB history of digital photography, but I'm glad I don't have to.

What is important to me is that I maintain my own local copy of all my originals. I know I can set Lightroom CC for that, but if I use Lightroom Classic for that purpose, I kill two birds with one stone – I get my local archive and Classic's fully functional utility in one place. Everywhere else I use CC on my laptop and iOS devices. When I'm traveling, I run Classic on my iMac in my studio so that redundant backups (thanks to Backblaze) of everything I can upload via CC on the go are downloaded and created.

This brilliant plan of mine has no shortcomings and is brilliant, but directly contradicts Adobe's official advice. What am i missing

If you want to have all your originals in the cloud, you should use Lightroom CC. If Lightroom CC is not yet powerful enough for you, you should forego the golden paradise of cloud storage and continue to use Lightroom Classic as you do until Lightroom CC has developed to meet your needs. If we know what you specifically miss from Classic, we can of course prioritize our ongoing improvements to Lightroom CC.

As you know, I'm always happy to receive this kind of feedback. So much is missing at the moment that I am definitely not ready to migrate. But I really like Lightroom CC and I love the idea of ​​having all my photos in the "cloud". I therefore imagine that one day there will be a turning point when the benefits of migration outweigh the disadvantages, and I will take the plunge before CC is 100% able to do anything I rely on. Therefore, this idea of ​​using Classic and CC together is difficult for me to shake. Why does Adobe recommend against this?

As a tech-savvy person who is aware of the potential pitfalls (and who has my phone number if you run into trouble), could you put together a workflow that uses both applications so that all of your originals are in the cloud, but you can continue to work mainly in Classic? Certainly…

Where it got weird

Benjamin then answered my question in detail and gave open and specific reasons why Adobe does not recommend synchronizing Classic and CC, although they are designed specifically for this. However, Adobe PR asked me to replace all of this helpful information (worth three paragraphs) with the following:

… But it is not a workflow that we recommend or that we want to invest in.

Adobe appears to be very sensitive to this stuff. I think what Benjamin wrote would have helped to purify the air with refreshing honesty, and I'm sorry you couldn't read it.

I'm going to share a solid flaw in my plan that Benjamin thought about, but I didn't write about: Remember that Lightroom CC's "Truth in the Cloud" is where Lightroom Classic stores your local storage as a canonical place Looked at photos. This distinction becomes very important when you delete a photo. If you delete it from Lightroom CC, Lightroom Classic does not delete the local original. It keeps it and simply considers it out of sync.

So you could have this scenario – and in fact, I unwittingly did just that:

  1. Import a photo into Lightroom CC. In Spain.
  2. It syncs with Lightroom's cloud photo storage.
  3. Lightroom Classic, dutifully running on your computer at home, downloads the photo to local storage.
  4. Even in Spain you notice that the photo is hot rubbish and delete it.
  5. However, it is still in your Lightroom Classic library. Forever.
  6. Sad trombone.

My conclusion? Maybe I'll wait longer than I hoped to migrate to Lightroom CC.

Back to questions and answers

As I mentioned earlier, my Lightroom Classic catalog contains a mix of photos imported into Classic and synced by CC.

All photos imported into Classic and synced from there with CC have originals on my local drive and Smart Previews on CC.

All photos taken by Lightroom CC have the originals on CC. So my CC material is a mixture of originals and smart previews.

Are all Smart Previews replaced by originals during the migration?

To be technically completely correct (my favorite correctness!), "Replaced" is probably not correct. I think it also maintains the Smart Preview. However, the simple answer to your question is "yes". Every photo that is imported into Lightroom CC (also via migration), the original is uploaded to the cloud, even if this photo has already been displayed in the cloud through an intelligent preview.

I have a lot of photos and they are on a large external drive. I know Lightroom CC needs to manage its own storage, i. H. It can't point to my local copies like Classic. I understand why, and I think it was the right decision for Lightroom CC. However, there is not enough space on my system drive to store a redundant copy of all my originals. So what should I do when it's time to migrate?

You need free space that corresponds to the space used by your images. However, this free space does not have to be on your system drive, but can be anywhere. Before starting the migration, go to the Lightroom CC settings and change the location of the originals to a drive (internal or external) that has enough free space for all of your images.

If you don't have enough free space anywhere and don't want to buy another drive, your alternative is to export sections of your main catalog as smaller catalogs and migrate these smaller catalogs one at a time without starting with the next one until you have previously synced the originals to the cloud completed so that the local cache can be cleared.

Okay, I'll make sure there is enough space on Big External Drive Two to make a full copy of all of my locally stored originals. Set Lightroom CC to use this location for originals, and then start the migration.

Then Lightroom CC copies everything to this managed storage and to the best of its knowledge and belief sends it to Creative Cloud when my internet upload bandwidth is given.

Can I immediately tell Lightroom CC not to save originals? Will Big External Drive Two remove them when they are added to the cloud?

Or should I wait for the post-migration mega synchronization to complete before doing this?

You never have to specify that you want to save originals locally. In other words, set a custom location for storing originals in the Lightroom CC settings, but don't select the "Save a copy of ALL originals locally" checkbox. So this local copy of all of your originals that Lightroom CC creates at the time of migration is just a cache, which it will clear itself if it can.

Change the storage location for originals to your internal drive only after the upload is complete. If you change the location, Lightroom tries to move all the originals from the old location to the new location, and in your case it will find that it has no place for it.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here