Dasatskisi Filmpicture 21148.jpg

"Beginning" won the festival's grand prize and three other awards when it went to the New York Film Festival.

The 68th San Sebastián Film Festival has helped revitalize the global festival this season with a physical event held in Spain from September 18-26. The lineup that began with Woody Allen's "Rifkin & # 39; s Festival" ended with the annual awards on September 26th.

The big winner of the festival was the debut film “Beginning” by Georgian writer / director Dea Kulumbegashvili, which won four of the jury awards including best screenplay, best director, best actress and the Golden Shell for best film. "Beginning," a psychological portrait of the effects of an extremist attack on a rural place of worship, was originally scheduled to premiere in Cannes and also played the Toronto International Film Festival. Next up is the ongoing New York Film Festival.

Other highlights were Florian Zeller's Oscar-hopeful "The Father", winner of the audience award – and a candidate for probably best actor next year for Anthony Hopkins' devastating turn as a man struggling with dementia. Mads Mikkelsen received the Silver Shell Best Actor for his performance as a drunken teacher in Thomas Vinterberg's "Another Round," which was highly acclaimed in Toronto. Eliza Hittman's "Never Seldom Sometimes Always," a February 2020 opener hit hard by the pandemic, also received an award outside of the official selection.



Under the direction of President Luca Guadagnino, the judges included Joe Alwyn, Marisa Fernández Armenteros, Michel Franco and Lena Mossum. The full list of winners can be found below.

Official selection prices

Golden shell for the best film: “Beginning”, Dea Kulumbegashvili

Special Jury Prize: "Crock of Gold: A few rounds with Shane MacGowan", Julien Temple

Silver Shell for the best director: “Beginning”, Dea Kulumbegashvili

Silver Shell for Best Actress: “Beginning”, Ia Sukhitashvili

Silver Shell for Best Actor: "Another Round", Mads Mikkelsen

Best script: “Beginning”, Dea Kulumbegashvili and Rati Oneli

Best camera: "Any crybugs?", Yuta Tsukinaga

Other festival prizes

New Directors' Award: "Last Days of Spring", Isabel Lamberti

New Directors' Award (Special Mention): "Slow Singing", Dong Xingyi

Latin Horizons Award: “Identifying Features”, Fernanda Valadez

Latin Horizons Award (Special Mention): “One of Thousands”, Clarisa Navas

San Sebastian Audience Award: "The Father", Florian Zeller

Audience award for the best European film: “The Mole Agent”, Maite Alberdi

Zabaltegi Tabakalera Prize: “The Metamorphosis of Birds”, Catarina Vasconcelos

Zabaltegi Tabakalera Prize (Special Mention): “The Woman Who Walked”, Hong Sang-soo

TVE Another Look Award: “Never rarely, sometimes always”, Eliza Hittman

TVE Another Look Award (Special Mention): “Möwe”, Kim Mi-jo

Spanish Cooperation Prize: “Identifying Features”, Fernanda Valadez

Irizar Basque Film Award: “Where's Mikel?”, Amaia Merino and Miguel Angel Llamas

Register: Stay up to date with the latest movie and TV news! Register here for our email newsletter.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here